News That Matters

Xbox Games Showcase Reportedly Planned for Late January


Xbox is reportedly planning to host a games showcase at the end of the month. According to a new report, an Xbox and Bethesda showcase will take place in late January and will feature a handful of upcoming Xbox games including Redfall, Forza Motorsport, Minecraft Legends and new content from ZeniMax Online Studios.

Windows Central reports that Microsoft will host a showcase listed as “Xbox Developer_Direct” on 25 January at 12pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm GMT (or 10pm CAT). The event will apparently be streamed on Xbox’s Twitch and YouTube channels, offering closer looks at Arkane’s vampire action game Redfall and a number of other titles.

READ MORE – Xbox Teams Up With Oreo to Make Cool Cookies

Interestingly, the site’s sources also claim that Starfield won’t be included in this event as Xbox might save it for another dedicated showcase at a later date. This is a smart move as Starfield remains the biggest Xbox game launching this year, so having its own showcase will allow Bethesda to flesh out more gameplay and new information. Bethesda previously reassured players that the anticipated space RPG will release sometime in the first half of 2023.

It’s possible that we’ll finally get a release date for Redfall at the upcoming event later this month, which is rumoured to launch sometime in early May. Since Xbox is also planning to release Forza Motorsport this year, we might get a late 2023 release date or window. Additionally, ZeniMax Online Studios could announce new content for The Elder Scrolls Online.

The Xbox and Bethesda Showcase may include other games that weren’t mentioned by Windows Central’s sources. Microsoft currently has multiple projects in development from its massive collection of first-party studios, including a Fable reboot from Forza Horizon studio Playground Games and a new RPG titled Avowed from Obsidian Entertainment, among others. It’s unclear if we’ll see those games at the upcoming show.

Xbox opted to pull out of showcasing any major games at The Game Awards last year and had a relatively quiet 2022 in terms of big exclusives. The company promises to shift the tides in 2023. “We have a lot planned to show and share about an incredibly exciting year ahead for 2023,” said Xbox marketing boss Aaron Greenberg last month. “Appreciate folks are eager to learn and see more. Timing is always key, but don’t worry you will not have to wait too long for what’s next from us.”

Microsoft might officially announce the showcase later this week, so keep your eyes peeled.

Source: Windows Central



Source link