News That Matters

Metro: Last Light will be free on Steam for the next week


Metro: Last Light will be free to download from Steam for one week starting later today.

The offer, which will launch at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7PM CET, coincides with the 10th anniversary of 4A Games’ post-apocalyptic shooter.

“To celebrate Metro: Last Light’s 10th Anniversary, the original Complete Edition of the 2013 game will be available for free on from 18-25 May,” it said.

Platforms > PlayStation 5 [4,731 articles]

Last Light’s sequel, Metro Exodus, was first released in 2019, and an enhanced version came to PS5, Xbox Series X/S and PC in 2021.

4A confirmed in November 2020 that the next game in the Metro franchise was being developed for PS5, Xbox Series X/S and PC, and that it planned to add multiplayer to the franchise.

Notice: To display this embed please allow the use of Functional Cookies in Cookie Preferences.

While it’s keen to introduce an online component to the game, 4A reassured fans it remained committed to the single-player experiences the series is known for.

“First – we’re committed to delivering a great story driven single player experience; this is what the Metro series is founded on,” it said.

“As a studio, we want to constantly push ourselves to create bigger and better games, but we also listen to what the fans are saying, and we know what’s important to you. We take our responsibly to the franchise seriously, and we think you’ll be excited our plans for the next chapter.”

The Epic Games Store is currently giving away The Sims 4 The Daring Lifestyle Bundle free of charge until 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm BST. At that time, it will be replaced with another free mystery game, which has yet to be announced.