How to watch the Oscars live: Time, channels and more

After a two-month hold-up for the pandemic, the 93rd Oscars will occur Sunday. The event will be held at both Los Angeles Union Station and the Dolby Theatre. In keeping with Covid-19 procedures, just the candidates, their visitors, and speakers will go to face to face.

So, what can audiences anticipate in this year when most theater were closed? Manufacturers are assuring an event of movie theater and an amusing program.

In the United States, the Oscars start at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 25.

In the U.K., the program starts at 1 a.m. GMT on Monday, April 26 and 10 a.m. AEST in Australia.

Who is chosen?

“Mank” leads amongst chosen movies with 10 nods. “Nomadland” is a strong competitor, as is Promising Girl,” for best picture.

Best actor nominees include Riz Ahmed for “Noise of Metal” and Chadwick Boseman for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.”

Best Actress nominees include Viola Davis for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” Andra Day for “The United States vs. Billie Vacation,” and Vanessa Kirby for “Pieces of a Lady.”

See the complete list of candidates here.

Will there be a red carpet?

A reduced red carpet will stream on the main ABC site or app, starting at 5:30 p.m. ET, the Academy’s main Twitter from 6:30 p.m. ET, or the E! network from 5 p.m. ET.

Can audiences stream the program online?

In addition to its direct broadcast, ABC will stream the event on its site, however you need to check in with your cable television service provider or livestreaming service.

Who can we anticipate to see?

While the event will not have a conventional host, Bong Joon Ho, Harrison Ford, Brad Pitt, Reese Witherspoon, Angela Bassett, Halle Berry, Don Cheadle, Regina King and Bryan Cranston are amongst a few of the speakers who have actually been revealed.

Jobber Wiki author Frank Long contributed to this report.